1. Master
  2. Degree
  3. Diploma
  4. Professional
  5. Certificate
  6. Workshops
  7. Foundation


Business Executive of The Year Award 2016

The Business Executive of The Year Award 2016 hosted by the National Institute of Business Management was successfully concluded on the 25th of May 2016 at Hilton Colombo with the presence of the Hon. Minister ChamindaWeerakkody, the Minister of Skills Development and Vocational Training as the Chief Guest for the event.

This award ceremony generated enormous exposure for the NIBM students, through direct contact with the corporate sector and it paved the way for the students to network with the corporate leaders who were present at the event.  The event was graced with the presence of corporate leaders such as Mr. Kalum Gunasekara (Director - Hayleys Engineering), Mr. Senath Jayathilake (CEO – John Keells Logistics (Pvt) Ltd), Dr. Prasad Madwatta (Group CEO – Lanka Hospitals), SamithaPerera (CEO – CBL Foods International), Mr.AmitavNandy (Country Manager - Bata Shoe Company of Ceylon Limited)  and other leading heads from Brandix Lanka Limited, Fonterra Brands Lanka (Pvt) Ltd, Kent Engineering etc.

The ceremony acknowledged the NIBM students who ventured beyond boundaries and excelled in their respective fields in the corporate sector.  It was a celebration to commemorate the commitment, dedication and the sheer hard workof the outstanding personalities of the NIBMstudents whose relentless work outshined the rest. 

NIBM achieved one of their remarkable milestone in the fifty-year journey of excellence in higher education by hosting the NIBM Business Executive of the year award 2016 for the first time to recognize exceptional executives whose personal and professional achievements and contributions to the society are exemplary. The uniqueness of this award lies in the fact that all the contestants have made the smart choice of being a part of NIBM from which their innate strengths were heightened to become an icon in their respective spheres.

Applications for the competition was called under five main categories namely: Marketing, Human Resource Management, Finance, Logistic and Supplies Management and Productivity and Quality. Out of which 24 applicants were short listed from over 500 applications where they were assessed on their contribution for the organizational development, commitment for professional development and devotion for community development. The capabilities were assessed upon a well-structured competition and each contestant were evaluated based on their individual capabilities such as their critical thinking, leadership skills, entrepreneurial skills, innovation skills and team spirit.

Being selected from such a meticulous process, the winner certainly is a unique business personality named MalithSanjaya who received a cash price worth LKR 200,000/-. The 1st Runner up Mr. Mohamed Rushdi received a cash price of LKR 100,000/-, 2nd Runner up - Ms. Dinuli De Silva received a cash price of LKR 75,000/-, 3rd Runner up - Ms. Veronika Wathsala received a cash price of LKR 50,000/- and the 4th Runner up - Mr. DanushkaLakmal received a cash price of LKR 35,000/-